Archive

Archive for February 17, 2007

You can’t say "Argh!" without saying "Ah!" first

February 17, 2007 Leave a comment

You’ll have to forgive me for being AWOL for the last several days, but apparently the open source gods have dealt me an interesting hand that I’ve been playing to the best of my ability.

While spending most of my time trying to get the hang of Yellow Dog Linux on my G3 Wallstreet (while hoping I can figure out how to go all Linux, rather than booting from BootX), my home machine — the G3 minitower with a G4 processor (thanks, Sonnet!) — seemed to take a vacation when I tried to burn a CD (the drill here is to boot into OS 9 to use the SCSI CD burner, which the machine did not like).

To compound the situation, for some mysterious reason, I couldn’t re-install OS X. This definitely was the exclamation point on the message I was getting from the open source gods: You talked the talk, bub, now walk the walk.

So I went through a few distros to find which one would boot.

Debian: I always have a problem with rebooting Debian after I install it. I don’t know why, but it never works for me, which is unfortunate because I really want to use it.

Gentoo: A very interesting process in installing it, but like Debian, I get a combination of nada, zilch and zero when I reboot.

[Again, this could be PEBKAC raising its ugly head once more . . . ]

So it’s back to Yellow Dog Linux for the G3, because the installer is friendly and I can get it to boot after I install it.

I’m not particularly married to the Yellow Dog, so if anyone has any suggestions for this G3/G4, I’m wide open to them. Further, this sort of speeds up my entrance into the Linux world: I had hoped to leisurely negotiate the Linux learning curve on the Wallstreet and get a handle on it, or at least to the point where I don’t have to reinstall the system if I want to change the monitor settings. The plan was to become a Linux stud, and then jump into converting the desktops at home.

So the “argh” heard ’round the world is really an “ah.”

Incidentally, I’d like to do an informal poll: Which of you readers like better as a desktop, GNOME or KDE?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers