Home > Fedora, KDE > The Three Faces of Fedora 11, Part 2: KDE

The Three Faces of Fedora 11, Part 2: KDE

The following may come as a shock to you all: I had originally written another blog, filled with kute kommentary kompletely katagorizing the klear advantages kurrently available in the new KDE 4.2, and how well it runs on the lightning-kwick Fedora 11.

But after being up all night with this version of Fedora 11, I deleted most of it. I’m not going to go there — not with the “k” thing which, since 1996, has probably been the mainstay of jokes around the desktop environment; jokes which those close to KDE find beyond tiresome by this time, I’m sure.

“Up all night” sounds bad, too, as if I were nursing a sick child with a fever. That’s not the case here. On the contrary: The reason I was up all night with KDE is that, as predominantly a GNOME user, I was enthralled by the desktop environment and its accompanying programs. Enthralled probably isn’t the best word here, and neither is enamored because neither word does justice to how impressed I am overall with KDE 4.2’s offerings and performance on Fedora 11.

A caveat: There are programs that I still prefer over the ones K provides on KDE. For example, while KOffice is an adequate program, you can have my OpenOffice when you pry my cold, dead fingers from it, and I installed it and tested with it. While I am an unequivocal OOo user, I do think that KThesarus is an excellent addition to KOffice. Konqueror, though adequate, tends to falter when it comes to some sites — Facebook and Gmail come immediately to mind. So Firefox was installed as well.

Having said this, though, there are programs on here that I like very much and would use going forward. I put Konversation through its paces during the Fedora Ambassadors IRC meeting on Tuesday evening, and it gained me as a convert. Also, KMail was very easy to set up and use and is a viable alternative — and in many ways a superior one, once you find your way around it — to Evolution.

[Note: I'm still on the fence when it comes to KsCD, but with the hour being what it was last night I wasn't able to crank up the Judas Priest -- played, of course, for testing purposes only. No, really. Just for testing . . . ]

Despite the digital stumble KDE 4 arguably may have been, KDE 4.2 tends to make up for it and goes way above and beyond the call. Further, KDE is clearly worth considering if you’re installing Fedora 11, whether or not F11 is the first time you’re using Fedora.

Coming tomorrow: Divine inspiration in using Fedora 11 with the Xfce desktop.

[FSF Associate Member](Larry Cafiero runs Redwood Digital Research in Felton, California, and is an associate member of the Free Software Foundation.)

Get Linux Add to Technorati Favorites EFF Binary Freedom Greens Dead button Wordpress button Xfce button debian dbEntrance button AntiX 7.0 fedora badge Fluxbuntu button gNewSense button Linux Mint Wolvix XubuntuEliminate DRM!

Categories: Fedora, KDE Tags: , ,
  1. Chris
    June 17, 2009 at 11:57 am

    I would like to point out that the F11 KDE LiveCD spin has nothing in the department of autodetection of missing codecs, pre-supplied plugins, rpms integrating with Kpackagekit and the like, whereas the GNOME spin does.
    Such lack of attention to detail is especially disheartening when taking into consideration how well these matters have been addressed in the GNOME spin.

    The GNOME spin I would be able to recommend to a newcomer – the KDE spin I would not.

    • June 17, 2009 at 12:01 pm

      That’s interesting to note, Chris. But having gone through my regular regimen of installls using F11 with KDE, I did not notice any problems. Further, PackageKit seems to be working pretty flawlessly, at least over the last 24 hours or so that I’ve been using it.

  2. Jercos
    June 17, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Shouldn’t the ktitle include “Part 2?” Anyway, KDE would be a really nice doohickey if it didn’t have to reinvent the wheel completely… Many programs, OO.o included (moreso before it became a GNOME project :P) fit quite nicely into the KDE paradigm with just a change of icons, maybe a reworking of some UI code in extreme cases…

    On the other hand, reinventing the wheel might be quite justified, as I’ve noticed I prefer AbiWord and Gnumeric over OO.o >_> (Though exactly how much AbiWord re-invented as opposed to co-inventing is somewhat debatable…)

    • June 17, 2009 at 3:41 pm

      It should say Part 2, Jercos. I’ll fix that. Meanwhile, I don’t know how OpenOffice became a GNOME project since Sun and IBM are the key players. I can state my main love of OpenOffice in one word: Impress. Nothing touches it.

      [Hey, I thought you didn't use a desktop environment . . . .?]

      • Jercos
        June 21, 2009 at 7:31 pm

        I do so use a desktop environment, and I’ll link you to the project page: http://www.gnu.org/software/screen/

        But in all seriousity [sic], I’m a roamer. if it runs on my hardware, I’ll probably download it, install it, junk up my machine a little bit more, and use it for a few days at least… Mostly because otherwise I wouldn’t do anything with it, I’d just sit at that DE’s terminal…

  3. Knef
    June 17, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Currently running KDE 4.3 Beta 2 on Kubuntu – no show-stopper bugs and very impressive overall.

    Ability to browse sub-folders in Folderview, ability to assign Activities to virtual desktops, improvements in all three available main menu programs (Kickoff, classic and Lancelot), extra features in Dolphin and Gwenview and more.

    On the bad side Amarok 2.1 is still a disappointment.

    By the way, try Yakuake on KDE – it’s way above Gnome equivalents – Tilda and Guake

    • Jercos
      June 21, 2009 at 7:33 pm

      Yaquake beats out Tilda by far, but if you don’t need a full-on terminal, have you tried gnome-do? I don’t use it myself, but I did give it a shot for a few days, and it was quite user-friendly to a terminal user :P

  4. dragonbite
    June 18, 2009 at 4:35 am

    I’m also a Gnome user testing out and trying Fedora and KDE for a change.

    The one thing that has irked me is KPackageManager. Either I just don’t “get it” or it seems to lack in a lot of places. I’ve given up and gone to using Yum in the command line. Maybe I’ll use KPackagemanager to visually “sort” through applications to find the right name, but Yum in the command line is a LOT easier. (note, I am coming from using Synaptic, so my point of view may be eschewed).

    I also installed Firefox, partially because of compatibility (as you mentioned, Gmail and Facebook) and partially familiarity. I know how to configure it to work the way I want.

    Other than that, it has been a good little doggie. Trying to get Amarok to play my MP3s is difficult, but that is also in part due to being more experienced with Rhythmbox and Banshee and knowing how to install the Fluendo plug-in.

    I guess part of why I am fooling around with KDE is not only a couple nice tweeks for the desktop (picture widget, auto-changing background, etc.) but some apps I prefer over the commonly-included in Gnome (digiKam, Quanta +, etc.)
    Drew

  5. Rex Dieter
    June 18, 2009 at 9:10 am

    Many thanks for the kind words.

    In the meantime, the fedora kde sig is always open for contributions, help, feedback, criticism (the constructive kind preferred).

    http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SIGs/KDE

    Rock on.

  6. June 18, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    OO and VLC follow me no matter the desktop.
    I have no need for anything else.

    KDE4.2 is the one I felt comfortable putting my parents on.

    When my sister in law saw it, she asked me if I could do the same thing to her Dell Mini 9 which came with Ubnutu because it felt like using an old WIndows computer from the 1990s while my folks computer (6 years old) felt fresh and modern.

    Which is why you should try KDE4: chicks dig it !!!

  1. June 18, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

