Archive

Archive for December 22, 2011

A Week in Limbo, Day 4: On second thought . . .

December 22, 2011 Leave a comment

The proverbial laundry list of things I want to do while I have this ZaReason Limbo 5440 is somewhat long, but alas, my time is limited. Originally I had planned to run a couple of other distros on the machine before returning it, but I’m currently hung up doing other things.

SCALE 10XFor example, I got hung up on the RAID-5 array, for starters. Not ever having more than one hard drive in one machine at one time left me with a significant amount of curiosity about how this works: Google, research, tweak. Neat stuff. Then there’s audio/video items since, now that I have four processors instead of the one I’m usually stuck with, I now can probably do a lot of really neat things.

More googling, more research, more tweaking. Check the clock. I have a little more time: Google, research, and tweak some more.

[Holiday shopping? Oh, right. I knew I was forgetting something.]

So rather than leave Fedora and go off to other distros, we’re going to stick around in the Red Hat neighborhood, running programs and reporting back for the next three days. We have audio coming up, and some interesting discoveries to report.

But for now, it’s time for holiday shopping (doesn’t everyone start on the 22nd?).

Tomorrow we’ll have A Week in Limbo, Day 5: Can you hear me now?

“A Week in Limbo Series” (for those of you keeping track)
A Week in Limbo, Day 0
A Week in Limbo, Day 1: Under the hood
A Week in Limbo, Day 2: Fedora 16
A Week in Limbo, Day 3: Fedora 16 KDE
A Week in Limbo, Day 4: On second thought . . .

(Larry Cafiero is one of the founders of the Lindependence Project and has just started testing and developing software in his new home office, which is the development side of Redwood Digital Research in Felton, California, United States.)

Add to Technorati Favorites EFF Binary Freedom Dead button Wordpress button Xfce button dbEntrance button AntiX 7.0 fedora badge Xubuntu GIMP Scribus Linux Mint Kororaa Salix OS Fluxbox Conky Thunderbird LibreOffice Crunchbang Bodhi Linux PostgreSQL identi.ca python scale 10x

Eliminate DRM!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers